Black bean and Yam tacos

I am working my way down the 10 school lunches that I have to create for my children as part of their challenge to me. This time we were inspired by Mexican cuisine. This meal was a winner, and everyone enjoyed it for our dinner. We were late getting back, and I was a little afraid that the kids would fuss and not want to eat their dinner. So I was delighted when  I heard them saying it was delicious.

I made the beans and yam the day before. Just before dinner, I diced the other vegetables and we baked up the tacos.  You can certainly use any vegetable that you like. Broccoli would be another good addition. If I was using broccoli, I would add it to the pan after the onions. This is certainly not a convenient way for the kids to have a school lunch. So for a school lunch, they could eat it as a wrap or as a taco salad. This bean and yam tacos, would also make a great appetizer at a party. You could assemble everything about 30 min prior to eating and then just bake it up when guests arrive.

The sweet potatoes and black beans go really well together, and all the other vegetables gave the meal a nice crunch. The kids also enjoyed adding the vegetables to their own tacos, before they were heated up in the oven at 350 F for about 5 min.

 

Ing:

4 yams, diced and baked at 400 F 20 min (until tender)

1 can black bean, drained

1 onion, diced

1 red pepper, diced

1 yellow pepper, diced

1 cucumber, sliced and quartered

1 cup shredded cheese

1 tbsp garam masala

1 tsp chili powder

1 tbsp pepper

2 tsp onion powder

Oil for cooking

Salsa

Guacamole

5 soft tacos

Method:

1. Pan fry onions in a heated pan with oil.

2.  When golden brown, add the yams and beans.

4. Add all the seasonings. When well combined, remove from heat. Don’t let the beans and yam get all mushy.

5.  The soft tacos can be cut into quarters or if you have lots of time, use a cookie cutter and cut out smaller circles or shapes.

6.  Add the vegetables of choice to the tacos. Sprinkle some grated cheese and bake at 350 F for 5 min until all the cheese melts.

7. Top with salsa and guacamole.

I used a flower cookie cutter to cut out the taco, but then realized that I did not have time to do this for all, so I just cut the tacos into quarters.

 

 

 

 

A layered salad for my lunch

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

