Layering up

A dear family member of mine is having a birthday today and I thought a cake was in order after we did our walk. There were just a few of us getting together, so the cake did not have to be super big. I thought that it would be a fun idea to tier the cake up instead of having a flat slab.

I used a 8 inch square pan and a loaf pan for the cake.

I cut the 8 inch square cake into two and put one on top of the other for the bottom slab. For the top two pieces, I used the loaf shaped cake and cut it to fit the sizes I needed. I still have a little bit left over from  loaf shaped cake for a treat another day.  The icing works as glue to stick the pieces together.

Adding some gum paste flowers gave the cake a whimsical look.  I can’t wait to enjoy the cake later with my loved ones.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dominica
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 09:52:01

    The cake in the photo reminds me of a Van Gogh painting: it has such a lovely, whimsical look. I am sure it is delicious too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

