Fish cutlets

My son keeps asking me for lunches that he can take to school that are from different countries. As my kids are relatively picky eaters and they only have 15 minutes to eat lunch in school, I thought that this would be a great project to take on. I have included in my happy list for 2012, to find with the kids ten lunch ideas from ten different countries for the kids to take to school.

My kids spun the globe around with their eyes closed and picked 9 countries to find out more about their cuisine. I felt that we should start with Malaysia, since that is where I grew up.

I love fish cutlets. When I was in university, sometimes I would go out and buy a fish cutlet or two and take it back to eat with my dinner in my dormitory. It made the meals we were served a little easier to eat with a fish cutlet on the side.

Fish cutlets are like fish patties. With the potato and the fish, that includes both carbohydrates and protein. Served with salad on the side, I feel that this will make a nutrious meal for my kids that can be eaten rather quickly. Also, I can make a batch, freeze them and microwave the cutlets in the morning. With the help of a Thermos container, it stays warm until lunchtime.

Ingredients:

2 cans salmon/ tuna (remove all bones). You can use fresh salmon as well.

1 onion, grinded

1/2 tbsp garam masala

1/4 tsp curry powder

1/8 tsp tumeric powder (optional)

1 tbsp coriander leaves, chopped (optional)

3 potatoes, boiled and mashed (skin remove

2 eggs, beaten

pepper and salt to taste

1-2 cups breadcrumbs

Method:

1. Mix all the ingredients together, except for the breadcrumbs. If you like your cutlets spicier, add more chilli powder and garam masala.

2. Shape each  cutlet into two inch wide patties, about 1/4 inch thick.

3. If the patties are quite moist, put them in a bowl with breadcrumbs, and cover both sides of the patties with crumbs.

4. If you find that the patties are not holding on to the breadcrumbs, prepare an egg wash [Beaten egg white]. Dip the patties in the egg wash, and then transfer them to the bowl with the breadcrumbs. I find that the patties are usually moist enough to hold the breadcrumbs without the extra egg wash.

5. Heat a pan with a little bit of  canola oil. When the pan is hot, pan fry the patties for about 4-5 minutes on each side until golden brown. If you are not sure about the spice level,  pan fry one cutlet and taste. If it needs extra seasoning, just add to the batch before forming them into the cutlets.

I usually have to have at least one cutlet while I am making it. They taste really delicious by themselves or with rice and a vegetable dish. These cutlets, if made a little smaller, are great appetizers as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

