My happy list (40 for my 40)

I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year! May the year ahead be filled with inspiration, great ideas, joy and good health. I can’ believe the year has come to an end. I have accomplished my list of 40 things in celebration of my turning 40. It has truly been an exciting year. I have enjoyed doing a lot of things that I have always wanted to do but never did.  Looking back at the year I feel really blessed to have had these exciting opportunities and am extremely thankful to my brother, sister and husband who have encouraged and supported me and participated in my adventure. I am excited about the possibilities 2013 will bring and my hope is that at the end of 2013,  we will all be able to say, we had a Happy Year!

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

POSTED DECEMBER 2011

I am turning 40 in 2012! I can’t quite believe it.

To celebrate my 40th year, I have come up with a happy list of 40 things to do, that make me happy. Most things on the list are things that I have always wanted to do, but never got around to doing.  A few on my list, are things that I have done before, but bring me joy. So from my birthday this year in December until I turn 40 in December 2012, I plan to “tackle” my list of 40 for my 40. I am quite excited about this. I feel that I have something extra special to look forward to; and this has made me very happy.

Do you have a happy list? Why not make your own happy list for 2012 and join me on this adventure!

  1. √Dinner at Vij’s [http://www.vijsrestaurant.ca/index_in.htm]-DONE. My brother took me out for dinner on my birthday. Thanks a lot RK!
  2. √Dinner at Tojo’s [http://www.tojos.com]-DONE. Nov 23
  3. √Make a tiered cake -DONE.  March 10 for Bob’s birthday
  4. √Roast a leg of lamb. DONE. Oct 26, 2012
  5. √Learn how to do one stroke painting- July 24, 2012. Painted birdhouses and several cards.
  6. √Make an art piece for my bedroom. -DONE. March 2012
  7. √Climb Grouse-DONE. Sept 15,2012
  8. √Create 10 school lunches from 10 different countries with the kids-DONE. Nov 2012
  9. √Take the kids for a holiday in Seattle. -DONE. April 8, 2012
  10. √Bollywood dance workout-  DONE. Jan 21-March 24. Bonsor community centre. A truly fun workout.
  11. √Learn how to play ping pong-  DONE. April 2012
  12. √Take the kids to the VSO kids concert-DONE. March 4
  13. √Solve the Rubik cube- Done. I found this site helpful
  14. √Bungee jumping- DONE. July 13
  15. √Baking class- DONE.  March. Learnt some interesting cakes and pastry techniques.
  16. √Teach a cooking-  DONE.  April 24, Malaysian cooking class
  17. √Make three different chutneys. DONE. Oct 2012
  18. √Rock climbing-DONE. Dec 31- Cliffhanger, Richmond
  19. √Send out Valentine messages to 40 people who have most inspired me- DONE. Feb 14. This project blessed me a lot!
  20. √Get the Sunday school to sponsor a child though World Vision- DONE. Jan 18. We are sponsoring a very sweet girl from Mongolia
  21. √Spend 5 afternoons at a beach-DONE. Nov 2012
  22. √Update my front entrance-DONE. Nov 2012
  23. √Take photos 40 days in a row- DONE
  24. √Volunteer at some type of different event-DONE. Earth Day at Hamilton Community centre. April 21, 2012
  25. √5 walks in different parks- DONE. August 2012
  26. √10 books that I have not read from the top 100 BBC’s big read- DONE. July 17, 2012
  27. √Try shooting. DONE Dec 21, 2012
  28.  √Make edible flowers for each cake I make.- DONE. Dec 2012
  29. √Plan Rayna’s birthday party with her. DONE. Aug 25.
  30. √Plan Rohan’s birthday party with him. DONE. Oct 13.
  31. √Make soap- DONE. Nov 2012 ( Cocoa butter soap)
  32. √All cards that I make this year will have to be from recycled items (except Christmas card).DONE. Dec 2012
  33. √Use my extended benefits and see a massage therapist 6 times. DONE. Nov 2012
  34. √Create a Christmas card with pictures taken during the year. DONE. Oct 25,2012
  35. √Have a winter vegetable garden. DONE (Grew Kale, Purple sprouting broccoli, carrots, green onions, peas)
  36. √Learn how to do different hairstyles-DONE
  37. √Makeover the steamer trunk that we have.DONE Feb 17
  38. √Go on a holiday with my mom and kids. DONE July 2012
  39. √Take a circus class- DONE. July 2012
  40. √ Go away for my birthday- DONE Dec 29, 2012
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. abichica
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 17:07:59

    great list, i actually do have a happy list as well, but it isnt as detailed as yours.. 😀 Thanks for sharing.. do check out my blog when you can.. 🙂
    http://chicwithwords.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. oksanamamale
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 18:02:39

    Seetha,
    Wow on your ambitious list! I am sure you will manage to these done in time for 40! I have been also spending time thinking of what makes me happy and committing to doing more of that in 2012. Happy New Year and see you next week.

    Reply

  3. Sashi Nair
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 20:04:10

    Hey Seetha,

    Impressive list, hope you achieve them all. Good Luck and Happy New Year!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 16:57:31

    Wonderful, creative, impressive and inspiring!

    Thanks Seetha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

