A touch of luxury (minus the cost)

When my sister was redecorating, she gave me her CD shelf. I never intended to house cds in it, as I thought that this would be a great shelving unit in a narrow spot. I found the perfect place for it in my closet, between two shelving racks.  However, I was not using it at its full potential.  I have always wanted to repurpose it better, but then lack the inspiration to do so.

Before

Now a year later, I have been motivated to do make it more functional. I have been looking in various places for containers/ baskets that would fit, but could not find something I liked for the price I wanted. Inspired by my box with light yellow flowers, I decided to look for boxes around my house that would fit in the shelves. I was able to find a few boxes that I have been saving to use for wrapping presents.

Using a butternut paint spray can that I have (this worked out quite well, because that is the only paint can I have), I sprayed all my boxes the same colour. I looked through my stash of ribbons that I had saved from projects or gifts that I had received, and found a lovely piece of green and yellow ribbon that I had bought from the thrift store for 35 cents.

Close-up

The yellow on all the containers, tied everything together and the ribbon, was an accent for some of the boxes. Not everything was matching, but there was a connection that ran through all the shelves. I used a glass vase that I had, to put some of my soaps (which co-incidentally are yellow as well), to add another decorative element.

The different boxes on the shelves, have helped me become more organized. I now have items placed neatly and they are easy to find. But above all, I have something visually pretty to look at and inspire me while I figure out what to use for work.

After

This project cost me next to nothing, and has been a great way to use items around the house. Each time I look at my shelving unit, I feel a touch of luxury. This has certainly made me happy.

Do you have items in your house that can be re-purposed to help you get organized?

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

