Heavenly scones

Having scones for breakfast, feel quite luxurious to me, because it reminds me of holidays we had growing up in Malaysia. We would stay for a few days in Cameron Highlands, the only place in Malaysia that strawberries could grow, (also famous for tea plantations), and have delicous scones and strawberries for tea.

Now I am blessed to pick my own fruit each summer , which is a treat in itself. I usually make scones in the summer after I have made a batch of jam. These scones go really well with strawberry jam, but of course could be eaten plain as well. They have a light texture because of the light cream.

As with most of my recipes, these freeze really well.  I make a big batch, bake and then freeze them. We have them on weekends when we can actually sit at the table together for breakfast. This time, I added some dried cranberries to give the scones a Christmasy touch. I plan to take some over to my sister’s house for Christmas breakfast.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

3 cups all purpose flour

3 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

 2 tbsp lemon zest

1 1/2 cups butter, softened and cut into little pieces.

2 1/4 cups light cream (plus 1 tbsp for brushing on scones)

2 tsp vanilla essence

3/4 cup dried cranberries

Method:

1. Mix all dry ingredients together including the lemon zest. (If you are using an electric mixer, use the dough hook)

2. Add butter, and mix, till coarse crumbles appear.

3. Add cream and vanilla essence and mix till combined.

4. Add cranberries and give it another quick mix. Do not overwork the dough.

5.  Sprinkle some flour on a surface that you can roll the dough out.  If you find your dough too sticky, pat it with some extra flour when rolling.

I like to roll my dough to about an inch in thickness and then using a cookie cutter, I cut out the scones.

6. Brush the scones with remainder cream. Bake at 375 F for about 15 -20 minutes, depending on your oven.

Prebaked scone
Prebaked scone
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aboutGoodness
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 02:25:48

    It looks to be a delicious recipe! Something to try out on Sunday 🙂 It looks that they are without eggs, which is great for me. And it is great that one can freeze them – I and I my husband love to have prepared dessert options in my freezer for easy Sunday mornings. Often I can not find anymore the recipes I like, so just in case I also saved it on my Pinterest board by my choice of recipes. Thank you for sharing this recipe! 🙂
    Laura

    Reply

    • skf2011
      Dec 02, 2011 @ 07:06:56

      Thanks Laura! This recipe freezers really well. We will be taking some out for breakfast tomorrow before decorating our Christmas tree.

      Reply

  2. aboutGoodness
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 22:57:29

    Good morning (well, in Switzerland it is morning now)!
    Just a short note to let you know that as planned – I made your scones for Sunday breakfast. Thank you so much for this recipe! It was easy and fun to do. My husband loved them, and even said that were healthy because to him they did not seem sweet and he saw that there was whole wheat flour in the recipe. I baked half of the amount, other half is in the freezer as per your suggestion – for some other pleasant Sunday morning.
    Today started perfectly – with enjoying the yesterday´s scones for my breakfast- mmm, life is good 🙂 Thank you and have a beautiful week!
    Laura

    Reply

    • skf2011
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 07:51:58

      Hello Laura,
      I am so glad that you liked the recipe. However, I usually bake the whole batch and then freeze them. I am sorry, I should have made that clearer. Please let me know how the frozen batch turns out. Thanks! Seetha

      Reply

  3. aboutGoodness
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 00:36:59

    I returned to let you know that everything went well with the frozen cookies that I still needed to bake 🙂 I and my husband love the smell of freshly baked goods at our home, so it is always a pleasure to be able to get baking done fast when there is no preparation time needed 🙂 And your recipe was highly appreciated also by my parents in law for whom I baked this frozen batch – thank you so much for the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

