Emergency Preparedness

Emergency preparedness has been on my radar for a while, but only recently did I make it a priority to complete the kits that I have and to make my family READY.

Here are some things to think about:

Where do I need an emergency kit? I would suggest:

  • A grab and go bag for each member of your household. (Weight of bag should be suitable for the person who is carrying it)
  • An emergency kit for your house. (To avoid needing to prepare duplicates, I store my grab and go bags with the emergency kit. I now keep my first aid kit in the primary grab bag. We can get to it easily when we need something from the first aid and it is always stored in the grab bag, incase we need to leave in a hurry)
  • A grab and go bag for the car.
  • A grab and go bag for the office.

Another important part of  being prepared is:

  • Having an emergency plan
  • Having all important documentation stored in a safe place
  • A will

See following posts for information on grab and go bags.

Leave a Reply

SKF2011

